The Maya and Max series looks at life from the perspective of 10-year old twins Maya and Maxwell Miller. They are the only children of Marsha and Monty Miller. Maya was born first, two minutes ahead of Max. She never will let him forget it. Maya enjoys her self-proclaimed position of first child. She is in charge (Max would say, “bossy”) and confident. Max is the funny one. They are both smart, resourceful, and inquisitive. The combination of such qualities make them a challenge to their parents and sometimes gets them into trouble.Maya and Max’s best friends are next door neighbors Tyler and Samantha Peterson. Tyler is 11 and Sammie is 9. Tyler and the twins are in the 5th grade class at school. Sammie is in 4th grade, but she won’t be left behind in any of the kids’ adventures. Even though Tyler is the oldest, it is only by a few months. Maya is unquestionably the leader of the group. She has a soft spot in her heart for Sammie, who is not only the youngest but is also small for her age.Maya and Max are tweens – children quickly becoming youth. As tweens, they encounter life issues with friends and family and the world around them. They have been nurtured in the Christian faith, and attend a private Christian school. Neither of these shelters them from the realities of life. This series will find the twins meeting new kids much different than them, dealing with misunderstandings with friends, bullies at school, and challenges in growing up. This series is about life issues, the joys and sorrows common to most of us. How will these two likable, ordinary kids handle the situations and people they encounter? Will their faith influence their reactions? Each book in this series is comprised of five chapters. Books are readable by later elementary students as well as enjoyable as a read-a-loud for younger elementary students. Some junior high students will also relate to the themes and lessons in these books. Included in the back of each book are questions for reflection and discussion based on the themes presented. This encourages personal reflection and/or group discussion in a family or classroom setting making this a versatile read-a-loud or book club series.

Back to school is exciting anytime, but somehow being in 5th grade has the twins believing they are some of the big kids now. Maya is becoming self-conscious and Max is also to a lesser extent. Mostly, he just wants the 5th grade boys to beat the 6th graders in soccer.A boy and his adopted sister with special needs are new to the 5th grade class. How will the students who have been together for years react to them? What will be the lessons learned for Maya and Max?

The paperback version of this book is available here on Amazon.

Maya and Max, Trouble Between Friends, Book 2 is now available here on Amazon.

Maya and Max, Faith and Action, Book 3 is now available here on Amazon.

Frontier life and adventure with Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show as told in the style of a memoir. Owen Hartmann, our fictional story teller, is the son of another of Ardie’s fictional characters. Matthew Hartmann was featured in an earlier book, Matthew Hartmann and the Pony Express.

In this book, Owen is hired by none other than William F. Cody to be a part of his Wild West Show. Owen describes the show as it was featured during The World Exposition in Chicago in 1893 and the role he played in the Show. He tells of his admiration for Annie Oakley and other historical characters. Written to entertain, the book contains history as well as an amusing story.

The paperback and Kindle versions of this book are available here on Amazon.

The highlight of Ardie’s writing is the RJ Series.  RJ’s Journey, RJ’s Valley, and RJ’s Legacy are historical fiction that ages 9 to 109 will enjoy. Research, travel, personal experiences, and faith in Jesus all played a vital role in the crafting of this powerful story of one young woman’s life and those around her she loved.

We pray you enjoy this series as much as we have.

*Ardie’s pen name is Ardith Nelson*

RJ’s Journey


RJ’s Journey: The Journals of Rebecca Jemima Callaway is a fictional account of a young girl’s life as she travels with her family from Missouri to Oregon Territory by wagon in 1858.  RJ’s story is told through her journals.  She is 12 years old when we first meet her. The stories of the trail and the first year in Oregon introduce the reader to what it might have been like in that era of American history.

The paperback and Kindle versions of this book are available here on Amazon.


RJ’s Valley


The continuing journals of Rebecca Jemima Callaway, who was first introduced in RJ’s Journey—the story of life on the Oregon Trail.  In RJ’s Valley, the journals reveal the life, thoughts, and (family friendly) love story of an adventurous young woman in the mid-1800’s in her beautiful and beloved Willamette Valley, Oregon.

The paperback and Kindle version of this book are available here on Amazon. 


RJ’s Legacy

Legacy e-book
RJ’s Legacy completes the trilogy of Rebecca Jemima’s Story.  In this book, her descendants share their touching memories of growing up on the frontier of Oregon.
The paperback and Kindle versions of this book are available here on Amazon. 

Year of the Hawk Rescue

Bena and her friend Kuruk live with their band near the Loup River. They are best friends who when the work is done enjoy fishing and exploring. Returning from a day of fishing, the pair hear the desperate cries of a hatchling red-tailed hawk. Upon finding the little creature buried in leaves, the children make it their mission to save her.
Year of the Hawk Rescue is a heartwarming, historical fiction for children that parents find interesting to read and older children enjoy reading for themselves.
The paperback and Kindle versions of this book are available here on Amazon.

Matthew Hartmann & The Pony Express


Matthew hartmann 

Experience the adventures of a pony express rider through his eyes.

A work of historical fiction for any age to enjoy set along the Platte River Road on the Nebraska Frontier. Enjoy learning American history while walking in the shoes of a boy turned family man in the pioneer days.
The paperback and Kindle versions of this book are available here on Amazon.
Nelson's Pond ebook
Nelson’s Pond tells the stories of animals who called the pond “home.”  There are three books in one; Nelson’s Island is told by Natalie, a young Canada goose who hatched on the island in Nelson’s Pond.  The second book is A Fawn’s Story told by a white-tail fawn born near the pond.  Book Three is A Fox Named Kit.  Kit was the runt of a fox family who grew up in the tamarack swamp next to Nelson’s pond.  These young animals tell about growing up and the adventures they had as they lived with their families on and around Nelson’s Pond.  The human family in all these stories, the Nelsons, had a little human child, Sara, who was especially interesting to the young animals at the pond.
The paperback and Kindle versions of this book are available here on Amazon.